MIT Wins Hardware Software Co-Design Contest

A team from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) placed first in a hardware/software co-design contest sponsored by the ACM-IEEE International Conference on Formal Methods and Models for Co-Design (MEMOCODE 2007). Nirav Dave, Kermin Fleming, Myron King, Michael Pellauer and Muralidaran Vijayaraghavan from MIT’s Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Lab were voted winners of the design contest by MEMOCODE 2007 attendees, held in Nice, France. Nine teams of United States and European university students started the contest, with only MIT and Virginia Tech submitting a final design.

The challenge was to implement a high-performance matrix-matrix multiplication (MMM) using any hardware and software design methodology targeting any field programmable gate array (FPGA) development platform. Contest organizers Forrest Brewer from the University of Santa Barbara and James C. Hoe of Carnegie Mellon University provided a software-only starter reference solution for the Xilinx XUP development board. The winning design was completed using the Bluespec electronic system level (ESL) synthesis environment.

MEMOCODE 2007 gathers researchers and practitioners in the field of the design of modern hardware and software systems to explore ways in which future design methods can benefit from new results on formal methods. It is sponsored by the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM) Special Interest Group on Embedded Systems (SIGBED) and Special Interest Group on Design Automation (SIGDA), IEEE Circuits and Systems Society (CAS) and IEEE Council on Electronic Design Automation (CEDA).

More info:
» MIT Team Places First in Hardware-Software Co-Design Contest
» MEMOCODE Hardware-Software Co-Design Contest
» Bluespec