2009 Innovate North America FPGA Competition

Altera, Terasic, Impulse Accelerated Technologies, and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Canada are sponsoring the 2009 Innovate North America FPGA Competition. The competition is focused on the use of FPGA technology and CAD-tool software to create innovative computer-system designs. Winners will receive a monetary award ($5000 in prizes) as well as guaranteed publication of their design in the Proceedings of the 2010 IEEE Symposium on Field-Programmable Custom Computing Machines.

FPGA Contest Deadlines

  • October 30 – Proposal submission deadline
  • January 8 – Detail progress report submission
  • January 22 – Semi-finalist selection
  • March 5 – Final project submission deadline
  • March 12 – Finalists selection

The design competition is open to all undergraduate and graduate student teams in North America. Teams are required to have an academic sponsor from their university. They will have two months to design their FPGA-based applications using software and development hardware that will be donated by the sponsor companies. Past teams have developed applications for image, audio, and signal-processing systems. Sign-ups are open until Friday, October 30, 2009.

The contest focuses on the flexibility and power of FPGAs and how they enable implementation of entire systems on a single chip. They also can be used as custom module accelerators optimized for specific applications. The participating students will use Altera’s Quartus II design software and a Cyclone II-based board from Terasic. Most teams will create their designs in VHDL or Verilog hardware description languages. Impulse C is donating licenses for their CoDeveloper software, which will enable teams to specify their designs in ANSI C code and have it parallelized for multi-stream acceleration in FPGAs.

More info: Innovate North America Altera FPGA Design Contest